Tags

,

Happy new year

Happy new year, everyone! (Photo credit: Amodiovalerio Verde)

I’m back! As nice as it was to be home in California, I’m really happy to be home in St. Louis again. We’re only four days into the second semester, but my classes are really interesting so far.

First semester was kind of like a trial period. Now that I’ve experienced four months of college, I realize there are some things that I’d like to change this time around. I’ve described a few of them below. These aren’t really New Year resolutions as much as they are second semester goals. I only have to manage these for five months!

1. Change my sleeping habits/no sleeping in

Last semester, my earliest class started at 10 am. On Tuesdays and Thursdays, class didn’t start until 1:00 pm. Not this time. 9 am class three days a week means I should be going to sleep before midnight now, right? Well, we’ll see. Missing calculus is certainly not an option (actually it is, since my professor doesn’t take attendance, but I’m not really the kind of person who can skip math class a bunch of times and still do well on the test.) If I don’t want to be walking around like a zombie everyday, I should probably go to bed earlier so I can get enough sleep. I’ve started waking up earlier too, so that I can have time to eat breakfast and/or  do some studying before the first class of the day.

2. Do the reading beforehand/on time

“I never procrastinate,” said no student, ever. Procrastination seems to be an unchangeable way of life, but that doesn’t mean I’m not going to try to fight it.

3. Say no to the cafés more often

Whispers Café, Café Bergson, Cherry Tree Café — there is no lack of sugar suppliers on campus. Having that many sweets a week day can’t be healthy. Sure, you have extra meal points. And yes, there’s a turtle cheesecake sitting right in front of your face. But come on, pull yourself together! You’re not even hungry; you just want it because it looks good.

I’m sure there are lot of other things I’d like to change, but baby steps, baby steps!

What are your school-related resolutions for the new year?

