Tags

, , , ,

I can’t believe I’ve been here for eight months already. I wouldn’t say freshman year flew by, per se, but it definitely didn’t seem like 2/3 of the year. It didn’t seem that long at all. It’s quite the paradox: I feel like I’ve been here forever; high school seems so far behind me. At the same time, it kind of does seem like just yesterday that I was trying to memorize all the building locations. One moment I’m trying to figure out where all the buildings are, and the next I’m told it’s time to register for sophomore classes!

Well, here they are — my sophomore fall classes. I provided the course descriptions that are printed in the course books/online so you can have a better idea of what I’ll be doing. All of my courses count toward my majors (computer science and linguistics), except for Howard Nemerov, which counts toward my writing minor.

FL2013 schedule

I woke up early to register these bad boys.

1. Latin and Greek in Current English (Ling 225D)

Linguistics courses make me so happy. I love my major!

“This course will provide a study of the impact of Latin and Greek on the English language through intensive study of the Latin and Greek roots, prefixes, and suffixes that are most commonly found in English technical and non-technical vocabulary. Some attention will also be paid to the linguistic principles by which these elements have entered the English language.”

2. Introduction to Sociolinguistics (Ling 339)

“Studies of language in social context are presented, including research related to diglossia, bilingualism, pidginization, creolization, and dialectology. Discourse analyses and conversational analyses of face-to-face conversation are examined in methodological and analytical terms. Beyond assigned readings, critical discourse analyses, the ethnography of speaking, the sociology of language, and accommodation theory are also considered. Students are required to develop a course project related to one or more studies of language in use. Experimental studies of sociophonetics and sociohistorical linguistics are presented during lectures to demonstrate advanced interdisciplinary research with potential educational and legal relevance. Prerequisite: Ling 170D.”

3. Logic and Discrete Mathematics (CSE 240)

I don’t really get excited for math classes, but I heard the professor is really good for this course. Ratemyprofessor.com was very helpful when I was creating my schedule. Don’t forget to use it!

“Introduces elements of logic and discrete mathematics that allow reasoning about computational structures and processes. Generally, the areas of discrete structures, proof techniques, and computational models are covered. Topics typically include propositional and predicate logic; sets, relations, functions, and graphs; proof by contradiction, induction, and reduction; and finite state machines and regular languages. Prerequisite: CSE 131 or other introductory programming background.”

4. First-Level Modern Japanese I 

I’m planning to take Japanese for the rest of college and hopefully study abroad in Japan junior year.

“An introduction to spoken Japanese following a systematic study of grammatical structures performed in context. Emphasis is on developing skills in oral communication through performance. Katakana and hiragana will be introduced. Five class hours; in addition, students must enroll for one subsection (one hour per week).”

5. Howard Nemerov Program II

“Designed as an extension of the Howard Nemerov Program´s freshman seminar, this course will provide short, focused, in-class writing assignments in a range of genres, experience with structural and stylistic analysis and emulation, practice in editing techniques, and consideration of theoretical issues facing the working writer.”

EDIT: I just added a class two days ago called Intro to Women’s Texts:The Mothership- Reproduction & Parenting in Women’s Utopian & Science Fiction.
The course description says we watch Aliens and Star Trek: The Last Generation. And we read so much sci-fi. My excitement level right now for this class is a 10. On a scale of 1 to 5.

Oh, and I got the last spot in the class. Lucky me!

