Hello friends! A lot has happened since the first day of school, but I’ll address the most important thing first: my mom came to WashU this weekend! It was an especially treasured visit because she wasn’t able to move me in or visit me during freshman year. I gave her a tour of WashU, took her to Ibby’s for dinner and Bear’s Den for brunch, and introduced her to my friends. Being my mom, she came with a ton of food from home that she had cooked for me. Then she bought me more food from Schnucks. Also, I now have a new minifridge/freezer to store it all in. So yes, I got spoiled this weekend.

But now she’s gone, and it’s back to the same old, same old. Except “same old, same old” doesn’t really exist because one of my goals for this school year is to frequently try new things. Sometimes the new thing involves stepping outside my comfort zone (e.g. the career fair), and other times it’s just something really fun that I’ve never done before (e.g. eating brunch off-campus). Here are some highlights of new experiences I’ve had so far:

1. Yoga Under the Gateway Arch

I went an entire school year without visiting the iconic Gateway Arch. I know, I know — shame on me. How does one live in St. Louis and not go to the Arch? I made amends by not only going to the Arch, but also doing yoga right under it.  The free yoga class started Saturday, May 4 and is offered from 9 am to 10 am every Saturday until the end of September. Some friends and I woke up early two weekends ago and drove to the Arch. I didn’t have a yoga mat, so I did my yoga in the grass. It was quite “at one with nature”-y. It took me a good 30 minutes to get into it, but by the end of the hour I was really enjoying myself and felt very relaxed and peaceful.

2. City Coffeehouse and Creperie

After yoga, we ate brunch at City Coffeehouse and Creperie. I ordered the Mont Blanc crepe, which has grilled chicken, fresh mushrooms, mozzarella cheese, and red onion with mushroom cream sauce. Yum! They have a lot of options–we definitely stood there for a good five minutes just trying to read everything on the menu. The food was tasty. I recommend this restaurant!

3. Fall Career Fair

Every semester, WashU has a career fair where over 100 companies are represented. I meant to go freshman year, but I chickened out. Getting all dressed up and then pitching yourself to someone when the only thing running through your head is “I need a job someday” is nerve-wracking. But this year I was determined to give it a try. It was held in the Athletic Complex from 3 pm to 7 pm, but I had class from 10-6:30 that Wednesday (the epitome of hump day. See picture below). I emailed my Second Language Acquisition professor in advance and asked for permission to leave early. He was nice and said I could leave by 6. At the career fair I visited the booths of some tech companies I had researched beforehand and stood in line to talk with the recruiters and give them my resume. I also talked to some representatives for companies I’d never heard of before, just to practice. As it turned out, getting all dressed up and pitching myself to people wasn’t scary at all. So if you’re thinking of making an appearance at a career fair, go for it! Let the free swag lure you in.

fall 2013 schedule

On the bright side, I can actually say I love Mondays

_________________________

Next on the list of new things to try is WU-SLam, WashU’s slam poetry group. I like performance art, and I was on the speech team in high school, but poetry has never been my thing. Writing it doesn’t come naturally to me, and I’d much rather read fictional prose than poetry. But I do like listening to spoken word poetry, so I’m going to go to their meeting this week and see what happens. I’ll let you know how it goes!

