Boba/Bubble Tea/Milk Tea

Being from SoCal, I cry a little bit inside every time someone calls the delicious tapioca drink “milk tea” or “bubble tea” instead of boba. (Except I’m starting to call it bubble tea myself now because I hear it so often.) There’s a place on the Loop called St. Louis Bubble Tea that I’ve started going to, and it’s really good. They also have food there (fried dumplings, fried rice, and seasoned fries, for example. Mmm…fried food), so my friend Diane-Jo and I sat down and enjoyed a meal there.

Cardinals Game

On Saturday, September 28 I went to my first baseball game. Sigh, it’s not like the LA Dodgers aren’t a big deal where I’m from or anything…
Baseball, true to what I’ve heard, is a slow game at times. But it’s also really easy to understand, and the energy is infectious  when the game really gets going. I even saw myself on the JumboTron, which was funny. I had to leave early, but I found myself checking the score frequently while I was home. The Cardinals beat the Cubs 6-2!

I had a great time, and I’m definitely a Cardinals fan now. Except when they play the Dodgers ;)

SPIN-IT

A few weeks ago I was accepted into the SPIN-IT program, which is a leadership program for women in IT. There are 19 other girls in the program, and we’re each paired up with our own mentor. My mentor’s name is Holli Kubly, and she’s super cool. She’s a project manager at Olin Library, and we get along really well. At our first meeting I told her about a career interest I had, and she jumped right on it and set up a meeting with someone in the field so I could ask him questions. I’ll be shadowing her a couple times while she’s at work. We’ll also have one-on-one mentoring sessions where we talk about my strengths, career goals, and anything else I want to talk about.

The Weather

I kind of want to take all the freshmen by the shoulders, shake them, and say, “You don’t understand! It wasn’t this good last year! Don’t believe the weather; it’s a trap! ” There’s a saying around here that if you don’t like the weather, just wait five minutes. Well, I don’t know what’s going on with St. Louis weather, but it’s been surprisingly consistent and very nice.

I have a very fond freshman year memory of walking out of my dorm with my roommate dressed for the blazing heat, only to walk out of class an hour later to an intense downpour. We didn’t have umbrellas because we didn’t expect rain (now I always keep an umbrella in my backpack, regardless of what the sky looks like), so we ran home as fast as we could and changed into dry, rain-worthy clothes. We went about our day, and after class we went to the activities fair on Brookings quad. But the activities fair was really uncomfortable because it was scorching hot again!

That’s why I can’t get over the current weather. So far this year, I’ve only had to use my umbrella once. It’s basically California weather right now. I wonder if that means we’re also going to have a mild winter without snow. I sure hope not. I only came to WashU for the snow. (Kidding.)

