Tags

, , ,

I found these videos today that I forgot I had. I love my roommates! #tbt

______

Last semester, a friend and I decided to throw a joint surprise birthday party for my roommates, whose birthdays are about a week apart. We invited a lot of people, so we suspected it would get kind of loud. The last thing we wanted was for the party to get shut down before the birthday guests even arrived. Never fear, WashU Party Registration is here!

The Rules

After you fill out the form to register a party with ResLife, you’re required to meet with your RCD (ResCollege Director) prior to the party to go over the party guidelines together. Yes, there are party guidelines. No, they’re not going to turn your fun party into a lame one. After the short meeting, your RCD notifies your RAs in advance that you will be having a little shindig. This is basically so your RAs know to just call you instead of interrupting the party, should they need to speak with you. It was a little bit of work, but it was better than having to worry about if there would be knocking on our door.

The Party

Loren and Madison were out at two different places that night, so they came home about an hour apart from each other. If you think it’s difficult getting a roomful of college kids to be silent before the birthday guest walks in, try doing that twiceEverything worked out perfectly, and I got both of their reactions on camera. One of my roommates cried. Tears means the surprise was successful, right? Mission accomplished.

